nieuws

Browse our latest catalogue
Browse our latest catalogue
New distributed publishers
Cinq Continents, Ludion, ACC, Hannibal, Gestalten, Carpet Bombing Culture, Verlag Walther Koenig ...  Lees meer
INSCHRIJVING NIEUWSBRIEF
Het laatste nieuws in je mailbox

01-new
Binnenkort
Nieuw - Paper goods
Nieuw Kinderboeken
Bestseller
Expo
Expo
Last copies
Promo
Herdruk
Tip
Onaangekondigd
Kijk binnenin

The Secret Diaries of Charles Ignatius Sancho

Paterson Joseph

ISBN: 9780349702384 (TPB - EN)

It's 1746 and Georgian London is not a safe place for a young Black man, especially one who has escaped slavery. After the twinkling lights in the Fleet Street coffee shops are blown out and the great houses have closed their doors for the night, Sancho must dodge slave catchers and worse. The man he hoped would help - a kindly duke who taught him to write - is dying. Sancho is desperate and utterly alone. So how does Charles Ignatius Sancho meet the King, write and play highly acclaimed music, become the first Black person to vote in Britain and lead the fight to end slavery? It's time for him to tell his story, one that begins on a tempestuous Atlantic Ocean, and ends at the very centre of London life. And through it all, he must ask: born amongst death, how much can you achieve in one short life? From one of Britain's best-loved actors, Paterson Joseph, comes an utterly captivating and haunting historical novel, telling the true story of a Great Black Briton. Fans of Bridgerton, Hamilton, Jessie Burton and The Confessions of Frannie Langton will adore being led into the heart of Black Georgian London.



Beschikbare edities:
Dit vind je misschien ook leuk:

Share
Naam
E-mail

Product is aan het winkelmandje toegevoegd

Toegevoegd aan mijn verlanglijst

De wijziging is bewaard